What’s the big deal about the Cherry Lola Treatment?

Cherry Lola invented a concoction that is named for her. What’s the big deal? I keep hearing the buzz so I decided to find out. I was envisioning something like this:

From hemahanandi.org

From hemahanandi.org

Until I saw the ingredient list.

Ingredients: 16 oz yogurt, 2 tbs baking soda, 3 tbs liquid aminos

You are supposed to mix and apply to your hair (in sections from root to tip) leaving it on under a plastic cap for 30-40 minutes. Even a hairstyling-challenged person like me can do that, right? So, this past weekend I did. I liked the results and wanted to understand more about what these ingredients actually do to my hair (it’s the scientist/researcher in me). This is what I deduced:

Yogurt is a good ingredient because of the fats and protein present, and the easily spreadable and sticky texture which make it a good conditioner. Baking soda (sodium bicarbonate) is a great ingredient because it is antiseptic, and effective for cleaning…it also lifts the cuticle of the hair so all the goodness can penetrate the hairshaft. I recently found out my hair has low porosity, so this is an important ingredient for me. Liquid aminos are basically liquid amino acids….this is the ingredient that I’m most curious about. I know what they do inside, but what benefit is putting them on my hair?

Amino acids are called the building blocks of life. I know that we (humans) are mostly made up of amino acids, they are used to break down food during digestion, grow, repair tissue, and other kinda important things. Amino acids are present in every cell in our body and combine to form proteins (you need these to survive). There are 20 amino acids that make proteins in the body, nine of these are essential and cannot be made by the body so we get these from food (yay, tryptophan).

So, supercharging this mixture with liquid aminos makes it a deluxe protein treatment that’s especially suited for low-porosity hair. Ok, questions answered 🙂 – Now, for the photos.

IMG_0188

I added the baking soda and liquid aminos (in that order) to some greek yogurt. It gets all bubbly and  souflee-ie when you add the aminos so next time I’ll use a bigger bowl.

IMG_0193

This is my “before” hair sectioned and twisted.

IMG_0185

This is the mixture on my coils.

IMG_0194

This is my “after” hair, freshly rinsed, detangled, sectioned, and twisted similarly to the before photo.

IMG_0199

I put a leave in conditioner (review coming soon) and the next morning shingled my hair with kinky curly custard.

IMG_0205

Gorgeous, right? I like this Cherry Lola treatment.

IMG_0207

6 thoughts on “What’s the big deal about the Cherry Lola Treatment?

Leave a Reply

